Universal Access To All Knowledge
Home Donate | Store | Blog | FAQ | Jobs | Volunteer Positions | Contact | Bios | Forums | Projects | Terms, Privacy, & Copyright
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload

Reply to this post | See parent post | Go Back
View Post [edit]

Poster: Ole Uncle John Date: Aug 19, 2005 12:59pm
Forum: etree Subject: Re: About writing reviews...

The first thing I plan on doing after I eventually take over IA in a leveraged buy-out is to insist all reviewers comment on both performance AND quality.Hearing that "me and bird-dog rocked hard at this show, 5 stars!" while not being informed that Jerry's amp was accidentally never turned on is not very helpfull. Neither are reviews that give 1 star for the best show of the tour because their is a five second aud patch on the third song first set.
Second thing I'm gonna do after I buy IA is to knock 5/8/77 down to four stars just to see the reaction I get : )

This post was modified by Ole Uncle John on 2005-08-19 19:59:59

Reply to this post
Reply

Poster: 1funkyhonky Date: Aug 20, 2005 12:00am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: About writing reviews...

1 agree, back in the old days of tapers. me and the circle i traded with always had a understanding that you go lightly on the a+ grade system.so many traders would send you crap you couldnt listen to because it had a HOT help/slipnot...automatic A+
of course these days with the advance of streaming you can actually listen before you download.wow how things have changed since the days of recieveing cassettes through the mail....(maybe recieve,but thats another story lol)i think the the star grading is great and simple the answer..4 stars would mean hi-quality. five stars puts it over the top if its a GREAT show to boot.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: StrawRider Date: Aug 20, 2005 1:10am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: About writing reviews...

Speaking of the Stars, does everyone agree that the following represents the grade for either performance or sound...

1 STAR: Incredibly Bad, Crapola
2 STAR: Pretty Bad, some parts may be o.k.
3 STAR: Good, standard performance
4 STAR: Great with many standouts
5 STAR: Excellent, everything is perfect

It's helpful when you give a grade for performance, then sound and then the overall grade based on the first two grades plus whatever other factors you may want to include. Of course, sometimes you may want to write: Hot! Download Now! LOL

Reply to this post
Reply

Poster: 1funkyhonky Date: Aug 20, 2005 3:04am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: About writing reviews...

perfect...my only thought is...is it really worth uploading anything that would be considered 1-2
stars?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Administrator, Curator, or StaffBrad Leblanc Date: Aug 21, 2005 5:33am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: About writing reviews...

my only thought is...is it really worth uploading anything that would be considered 1-2
stars?


Certainly. First and foremost this is an archive and a cruddy sounding recording may be the only one that exists. As long as no other recording is in the collection, send it on up!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: StrawRider Date: Aug 20, 2005 3:32am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: About writing reviews...

Well, certainly not worth keeping at least. You may want to warn others about certain shows. I've done that a few times. I don't see anything wrong with a negative review but sometimes opinions vary. I gave the worst review I've ever given to a Kansas City show in 1981 that others seem to think is very good.

This post was modified by StrawRider on 2005-08-20 10:32:56

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: dr. flashback Date: Aug 20, 2005 10:26pm
Forum: etree Subject: Re: About writing reviews...

Excellent, StrawRider. I couldn't have put it better myself! I reserve 5 stars for only my top 5-10 shows for a year. And I have yet to bother to review any 1-2 star shows, although I might later. As you say, there may be a 1969 show for instance, with bad hiss, missing songs and sketchy playing - but with a really good Dark Star. That would get 2 stars from me.
There's just so many great 4 and 5 star shows, who has time to write about why some other shows aren't good? Anyway, your system and comments are a good contribution to the consensus among reviewers. Thanks! So - what Dead show are YOU listening to with your Sunday coffee?
Dr. Flashback :-)

This post was modified by dr. flashback on 2005-08-21 05:26:48

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: cream-puff-war Date: Aug 21, 2005 12:28am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: About writing reviews...

I'm listening to 1969-02-27.

I appreciate the efforts made by the reviewers of vintage '60s shows - especially when details are pointed out as to what makes the set sound particularly worthwhile, or unusual though on the surface familiar...
and sure, sound quality matters, within the context of the time's limits.


Reviews can help in discerning, for example, other worthy late '68/early '69 sets significantly different than Live Dead era picks such as the 02-27 through 03-01 run.

For example the (albeit short set) - 1968-10-20 show at the Berkeley Greek Theatre:
http://www.archive.org/audio/etree-details-db.php?id=15523


Btw, do any archive reviewers have comments re: the recently released 1966 Oddities GD cd?


Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: StrawRider Date: Aug 21, 2005 2:07am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: About writing reviews...

Sorry, can't help you on the oddities yet, too much music to digest with my coffee!

Watch out for 2-27-69 'cause they bring out the monkeys on the second set! Definately one of my favorites from 69. Bless this place and everyone who works at making it the best thing since the bus came by and we all got on!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: StrawRider Date: Aug 21, 2005 12:56am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: About writing reviews...

I'm about to load the Feb. 24, 1974 Winterland show into my ipod so I can listen to that awesome Dark Star I've been missing out on! How about you?
I see your reviewing shows from 1977 now...cool!

This post was modified by StrawRider on 2005-08-21 07:56:11

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: dr. flashback Date: Aug 21, 2005 1:07am
Forum: etree Subject: Re: About writing reviews...

Ha ha. Better put on an extra pot of coffee. This show is 4 discs long. One of my top 5 for 1974, or ANY year for that matter. God what a show! Yeah, the Dark Star is probably the best of 1974. You'll never be the same!
cheers,
Dr. Flashback :-)